The goal of this website is to be a safe for souls website advancing Catholic thinking and education. When editing, please adhere to the Content Standards.

Some images have been enhanced for teaching purposes and may not be identical to the original artwork.


From The Work of God's Children
Jump to: navigation, search


What is now Ecuador formed part of the northern Inca Empire until the Spanish conquest in 1533 A.D.. Quito became a seat of Spanish colonial government in 1563 A.D. and part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada in 1717 A.D.. The territories of the Viceroyalty - New Granada (Colombia), Venezuela, and Quito - gained their independence between 1819 A.D. and 1822 A.D. and formed a federation known as Gran Colombia. When Quito withdrew in 1830 A.D., the traditional name was changed in favor of the "Republic of the Equator." Between 1904 A.D. and 1942 A.D., Ecuador lost territories in a series of conflicts with its neighbors. A border war with Peru that flared in 1995 A.D. was resolved in 1999 A.D.. Although Ecuador marked 25 years of civilian governance in 2004 A.D., the period has been marred by political instability. Spanish is the official language, but Amerindian languages (especially Quechua) are also spoken.

Media in category "Ecuador"

The following 3 files are in this category, out of 3 total.

Personal tools